Traveling Wilburys

Tuesday, December 06, 2005

Message From The Country Remaster

Message From the CountryThe recently released Message From the Country remaster has been getting rave reviews in the music press, including a new review in the December issue of Rolling Stone magazine.

Released in the UK on September 5, 2005, the remastered, expanded edition celebrates the 35th anniversary of The Move (Roy Wood, Jeff Lynne, Bev Bevan) signing to EMI Records. It features the complete Message From The Country album, remastered for the first time ever from the original master tapes at Abbey Road Studios.

The expanded edition also includes a treasure trove of material, most of which has not been released in years:

The Move’s EMI single hits (written by Roy Wood)

  • Tonight (no.11)
  • Chinatown (no.21)
  • California Man (no.9 – The Move’s final single)

    B-sides (written by Jeff Lynne)
  • Down On The Bay
  • Do Ya (The Move’s only hit in America and later a hit for ELO)
  • Newly discovered and previously unheard session outtakes and a previously unreleased full-length session version of Do Ya

    Compiled and researched by ELO & Move archivist Rob Caiger, along with members of the Move, the package is accompanied by an illustrated 24-page booklet containing in-depth sleeve notes by John Van Der Kiste, band interviews, previously unpublished photographs, rare artwork & more.

    The tracklisting is as follows:
    1. Message From The Country
    2. Ella James
    3. No Time
    4. Don’t Mess Me Up
    5. Until Your Moma’s Gone
    6. It Wasn’t My Idea To Dance
    7. The Minister
    8. Ben Crawley Steel Company
    9. The Words Of Aaron
    10. My Marge

    Bonus tracks:
    11. Tonight (3.17)
    12. Chinatown (3.06)
    13. Down On The Bay (4.14)
    14. Do Ya (4.38)
    15. California Man (3.35)
    16. Don’t Mess Me Up (Alternate version) (previously unreleased) (3.20)
    17. The Words Of Aaron (Alternate version) (previously unreleased) (6.03)
    18. Do Ya (Alternate version) (previously unreleased) (4.29)

    Hidden track:
    My Marge (Session version) (previously unreleased) (2.12)